Annual Report Annual Report 2015 : Page 21

201 5 TI M E LI N E JUL n APHL achieves milestone: 94% of eligible public health labs report test data electronically via the AIMS platform n Over 400 participants join APHL’s “Harmful Algal Blooms: Drinking Water Impacts and Methods” webinar n APHL submits data from 2014 Public Health Systems Survey to Healthy People 2020 to update the Public Health Infrastructure-12 objective n APHL convenes meeting on Severe Com-bined Immunodeficiency in Bethesda, MD n APHL Emerging Leaders launch “Thatssick” website to share information on lab careers with students SEP n APHL begins second peer-to-peer coaching program n APHL sponsors 2015 LRN National Meeting with over 300 in attendance n APHL offers “Anaerobic Micro-biology: Its Survival in Today’s World” to over 650 attendees NOV n APHL publishes Outbreaks of Unde-termined Etiology CIFOR Guidelines n APHL co-sponsors Integrated Foodborne Outbreak Response and Management (InFORM) Conference in Phoenix, AZ, with CDC, FDA and USDA n PulseNet and workforce data visual-ization dashboards are available to members n APHL visits Vietnam to conduct a GHSA assessment and support planning AUG n APHL convenes Laboratory Response Network (LRN) Joint Leadership Committee to discuss assay development for LRN-B and LRN-C n APHL submits data from 2015 Comprehensive Laboratory Services Survey to Healthy People 2020 to update the Public Health Infrastructure-11 objective OCT n APHL attracts 35,000+ partici pants – over twice the number in 2014 --to a massive open online course, “Chemi-cals & Health,” offered in collabora -tion with Johns Hopkins University n APHL staff visit Sierra Leone to sup-port Ebola lab strengthening activities and participate in African Society for Laboratory Medicine Global Health Security Agenda (GHSA) conference n APHL establishes Public Health Laboratory Competency Steering Committee n APHL publishes The Brave New World of Laboratory Informatics II: Navigating in the Digital Age DEC n APHL launches CIFOR Metrics Entry Tool to help labs evaluate the performance of foodborne disease surveillance, investigation and control programs n APHL publishes 2014 Comprehen-sive Laboratory Services Survey Summary n APHL and CDC convene 6 th CaliciNet User Meeting in Albuquerque, NM n APHL establishes an office in Guinea to oversee association activities in that country n APHL Informatics Services Platform (AIMS) has over 50 messaging partners who route an average of 20,000 messages/ month through the system 2015 APHL ANNUAL REPORT 21 2015 APHL ANNUAL REPORT 21


Standing Committees (2014-2015)


Judith Lovchik, PhD, D(ABMM), President;
Director, Indiana Public Health Laboratory

A. Chris Whelen, PhD, D(ABMM), President-Elect; Laboratory Director, Hawaii State
Laboratories Division

Christopher Atchison, MPA, Secretary-Treasurer;
Laboratory Director, State Hygienic Laboratory
at the University of Iowa

Ewa King, PhD, Member-at-Large; Laboratory
Director, Rhode Island State Health Laboratories

Joanne Bartkus, PhD, D(ABMM) Member-at-
Large; Laboratory Director, Minnesota Public
Health Laboratory Division

Grace Kubin, PhD, Member-at-Large;
Laboratory Director, Texas Department of
State Health Services

Mark Wade, Local Institutional Member
Representative; Laboratory Director, San
Antonio Metro Health District Laboratory

Tamara “Tammy” Theisen, MT(ASCP), Local
Institutional Member Representative; Laboratory
Director, Saginaw County Department of
Public Health Laboratory

Maria Ishida, PhD, Public Health Associate
Institutional Member Representative;
Laboratory Director, New York State
Department of Agriculture & Markets

Christine Bean, PhD, MBA, MT(ASCP),
Immediate Past President; Laboratory Director,
New Hampshire Public Health Laboratories

Scott J. Becker, MS, Ex-Officio; Executive
Director, Association of Public Health


Christopher Atchison, Chair

David Butcher

Anna Callender

Mary Holliday

Norma Tavakoli

Bill Whitmar

Patricia Smith, Staff Liaison

Advisory Committees (2014-2015)


Michael Pentella, Chair

Jack Bennett

Andrew Cannons

Christina Egan

Leah Gills

David Hill

J. Royden Saah

Charlene Thomas

David Warshauer

Mark Wade, Board Liaison

Rinki Goswami, Staff Liaison


Sanwat Chaudhuri, Co-Chair

Paul Moyer, Co-Chair

Jack Bennett

James Eaton

Mary Hagerman

William George Mills

Meshel Mork

William Parks

Blaine Rhodes

Ewa King, Board Liaison

Ruhiyyih Degeberg, Staff Liaison


Jack Bennett, Chair

Akin Babatola

Lucio Barinelli

Sanjib Bhattacharyya

Sanwat Chaudhuri

Carl Hogberg

Christopher Judd

Henry Leibovitz

Jyl Madlem

Martina McGarvey

Bob Read

Steve Rhode

Kathryn Wangsness

Michael Wichman

Laurie Wright

Maria Ishida, Board Liaison

Sarah Wright, Staff Liaison


Robyn Atkinson-Dunn,Co-Chair

David Boxrud,Co-Chair

Elizabeth Delamater

Ryan Gentry

George Goedesky

Stephen Gladbach

David Jensen

Michael Lytle

Cynthia Mangione

Tim Monson

Tom Phillips

Tracy Stiles

Donna Williams-Hill

Amy Woron

Maria Ishida, Board Liaison

Kirsten Larson, Staff Liaison


Romesh Gautom, Chair

Wade Aldous

Sanjib Bhattacharyya

Frances Downes

Fizza Gulamali-Majid

Susan Madison-Antenucci

Michael Pentella

Olga Ponomareva

J. Royden Saah

Haynes Sheppard

Richard Steece

Anthony Tran

Burton Wilcke

Kaiser Shen, Staff Liaison


Jennifer Rakeman-Cagno, Chair

Vishnu Chaturvedi

Lixia Liu

Mark Pandori

Michael Pentella

Jafar Razeq

Marie-Claire Rowlinson

Peter Shult

Kirsten St. George

Richard Steece

Sara Vetter

David Warshauer

Joanne Bartkus, Board Liaison

Kelly Wroblewski, Staff Liaison


Garrett Peterson, Chair

Wanda Andrews

Mark Conde

Susanne Crowe

Frank Delin

Natalie Dorsch

Paul Duffey

Keith Higginbotham

Bernd Jilly

Ted Johnson

Jacquelyn Lee

Carl Rothenbacher

Dariush Shirazi

Christopher Atchison, Board Liaison

Vanessa Holley, Staff Liaison


Lorelei Kurimski, Chair

Jack Bennett

Mary Celotti

Rick France

Romesh Gautom

Billie Juni

Mimi Lachica

Shashi Mehta

Robert Rej

Victor Waddell

Burton Wilcke

Dongxiang Xia

Tamara Theisen, Board Liaison

Michael Marsico, Staff Liaison


Jill Power, Chair

Carina Blackmore

John Campbell

M. Stephen Gradus

Chris Grimes

Paul Kimsey

Twila Kunde

Lorelai Kurimski

Denise Lopez

Steven Marshall

Sharon Massingale

Deborah Severson

Charlene Thomas

Christine Bean, Board Liaison

Mark Wade, Board Liaison

Bertina Su, Staff Liaison


Kerry Buchs, Chair

Akin Babatola

Aaron Hoogenboom

Mimi Lachica

Shane Sanderson

Deborah Severson

Claudia Soriano

Bonny Van

Leslie Wolf

Tamara Theisen, Board Liaison

Mark Wade, Board Liaison

Drew Gaskins, Staff Liaison


Susan Tanksley, Chair

Stanton Berberich

Michele Caggana

George Dizikes

Fizza Gulamali-Majid

Patrice Held

Cheryl Hermerath

Patrick Hopkins

Hari Patel

Patricia Scott

Darrin Sevier

Scott Shone

Bonita Taffe

Daniel Wright

Joanne Bartkus, Board Liaison

Guisou Zarbalian, Staff Liaison


Christina Egan, Chair

Morris Blaylock

Patricia Blevins

Andrew Cannons

Cheryl Gauthier

Scott Hughes

Grace Kubin

Wanda Reiter Kintz

James Rudrik

Maureen Sullivan

Victor Waddell

Dongxiang Xia

A. Christian Whelen, Board Liaison

Amy Pullman, Staff Liaison


Bernd Jilly, Chair

Sanjib Bhattacharyya

Kerry Buchs

Sarah Buss

Maria Paz Carlos

Sharon Cibrik

Leah Gillis

Beth Hochstedler

Sharon Master

Kimberlee Musser

Anna Strain

Burton Wilcke

Christine Bean, Board Liaison

Laura Siegel, Staff Liaison

Read the full article at

Previous Page  Next Page

Publication List
Using a screen reader? Click Here